6 East African integration and the Northern Corridor

Uganda is a landlocked country and is heavily reliant on the road, rail and maritime infrastructure of neighbouring countries, such as Kenya and Tanzania, for both inward and outward transportation of raw materials and manufactured goods and produce. For Uganda to achieve its economic and social development goals, it is essential that it participates with neighbouring partner countries in the strategic planning and development of the transport infrastructure that links these countries.

This section includes details of the Northern Corridor Infrastructure Transit Agreement between member countries that include Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia and South Sudan. It also includes a report on recent developments and benefits of trade facilitation in the East African Community; a strategy for regional intermodal transport and an action plan including the policy, legal and institutional framework; a report on the state of infrastructure in the East African Community ; a comparison of transportation costs along the Northern Corridor route, together with the findings of a stakeholder survey along the route; and a report, commissioned by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, on how the fast-tracking of East African integration can be achieved.